Faith In Humanity

From time to time I tend to lose faith in humanity, because -let’s be honest- people can truly be horrible sometimes.
Selfish, hurtful, rude, cruel, vengeful, …

Sometimes there are persons that do things that are so far from my own personality and character that it horrifies me.

My Facebook is filled with video’s of humans mistreating animals, being cruel to one another.
Saying mean things to hurt another person, with no obvious or clear reason at all.

People are selfish, only thinking about themselves, not caring for another.
I have learned that the hard way lately.
Most people only tend to “be there” for you when they can use you for their own personal gain.
They only text you or mail you when they need something from you.

If you’re sick, they will feel sorry for you at first but when they notice that it will take longer than they expected for you to get better, they let you down.
No more contact, no more sincere “how are you”.

Because like Elena Gilbert once said in the Vampire Diaries: “When someone asks “how are you?” they really don’t want an answer.”

It’s just easier for them not contacting you, hearing you or seeing you, because then they don’t have to pretend to care. And sometimes, I get that. I think everyone did the same from time to time, sadly.

But it tends to get hard when you’re the one that needs someone to ask you that question, and nobody does.

Like I said, I learned the hard way, and it truly sucked.

So whenever I tend to lose my faith in humanity because of things like this, there are a few persons that restore my faith.

And I love the fact that even though the horrible things people do: the cruelty to other persons, animals, nature, the wars, the fights, the being-mean, … are truly horrifying and bad, it doesn’t take equally as much GOOD things to change the balance between good and bad.

The simplest of things can fix  my faith.
Someone being polite in traffic.
A smile from the cashier at the local store.
Someone being helpful for one another.
An unexpected text from a good friend, asking how I am and asking to meet and do something fun.
A good talk with someone, a really good, since one.
A smile.
A hug.
A funny post from someone.
Seeing someone be good to one another….

The little things.
Thank God for those little things, because they truly make life worth living.
It’s true, there are more selfish, bad people nowadays.
But it’s the good ones, the kind, helpful ones that make the difference.

And that is one of the many reasons why I love Christmas, it really tends to bring out the best in everyone.
Of course, it shouldn’t be the only period where you are nice to someone or helpful and kind, but it’s a start.

I feel blessed for having been through a rather difficult and hard time in my life, because now I know who I can count on.
Now I really know who matters.

I may not have a big group of friends
or a ton of money
or many other things
but I see myself as a rich person nonetheless, because I am rich with lessons and truths. I learn, I evolve, I explore.

And I may still have a long road ahead, and that road might not be easy, but at least now I know who has my back.

large

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

