Love Like Theirs

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve dreamt of a fairytale love.

When I was a teenager I was really into “One Tree Hill”.
Lucas Scott and Peyton Sawyer were my two favorite characters on the show.
I was so jealous of their love, their romance and I swore to myself that that was the kind of love I’d want to have someday.
The way they are a combination of best friends and lovers.
The way they tease each other.
How much they love each other.
The crazy but oh so fun things they do together.
The way they always support each other.
The fact that they’ve known each other for years and first became friends before they dated.
The fact that they’ve been on a few dates, but still it took them some time to really get together.

And it’s only now when I’m watching Season 6 of One Tree Hill once more, that I realize something.

I have that kind of relationship.
I too have known him for almost two years before we got together, even though we’ve been on a date before.
I too have dated an other guy in the period between our first date and the start of our relationship.
Even weeks, days before we got together I was still seeing an other guy.
I too had to make a choice, but in the end it was so obvious to me that it had always been him.
That he was the one. 

We too love to tease each other.
We too love to “fight” each other.
We love to challenge each other.
We look like two best friends and lovers all wrapped into one.
We are always together.
We’re inseparable.
You’ll most likely see him next to me. 

We too do the craziest things together.
We too like to go with the moment.
Live life as it comes.
We always support each other.
We know what the other one is thinking simply by sharing a look.
We too had our ups and downs, our doubts, our painful moments
but in the end we still choose to stay together. 

I’ve always wanted a relationship like Lucas and Peyton, 
and it’s only now I realize: 
I do.

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Love Like Theirs

  1. This was really deep and heartfelt and I loved reading it. I’m glad you found a love like Lucas and Peyton, because they had one of the best loves and they were a great pairing.

    1. aww thank you, that’s really sweet of you.

      But just like them, my relationship has known it’s big downs as well.

      I guess it’s always something that requires work.

      Falling in love is easy, it’s staying in love that requires effort. x

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

