I Am A Dreamer

I am a dreamer.
Always have been.

Ever since I was a little child, my fantasy and dreams have often saved me from the cruel, cold world we sometimes call reality.

For me, my dreams and fantasy were a way to cope with all the deaths in my family.
My little sister, my grandfather, my great-grandmother, my first dog, my second dog, my uncle, …
It was a way to cope with things that didn’t make any sense to me.

Why would a normal, rather healthy, happy person commit suicide?
Why would a healthy, adorably sweet dog die?
Why did those people had to be taken away from me?
Were they making me TOO happy?
Was that a sin?

It became an automatism for me.
Whenever things get too hard, too real.
I escape.

Of course there comes a time when I have to leave my beautiful world and come back and face reality.
Face the problems, the issues, the situations.
And I do.
And it’s still hard, it is, every time again, but in a way, it’s easier when I first visited my fantasy world.

Also, my dreams are what define me.
My ambitions.
My hopes.
My expectations.

They are what shapes me.
And for that, I’m not afraid and ashamed to say that I’m a dreamer.
I’m proud of it.
And as long as I can, I promise to never stop dreaming.

With all my heart I believe that a person needs to dream.
Because they give you a goal.
Something to reach for.

Therefore I say: Keep dreaming.
Keep chasing that dream.
And who knows, maybe one day, it ‘ll be more than just a dream.
Maybe one day it ‘ll be something you can be proud of.
Something you actually have accomplished.

Image

24 thoughts on “I Am A Dreamer

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

