Love And Other Drugs

I’ve just finished watching the movie ‘love and other drugs’ (I know, it’s been out since 2010 but oh well), and I have to admit -although I normally kind of hate romantic movies because well.. they make you cry and feel sorry for yourself for not having the same kind of perfect relationship as the people in the movie do-  but this one actually got to me. A lot. In fact, it’s one of my all times favorite romantic movies. Along with ‘P.s. I love you’. I love the story of the movie, the way they make it real. You can see Maggie (Anne Hathaway) suffer from phase 1 Parkinson, on the age of 26. And you see her struggle with her illness, her guilt of having Jamie (Jake Gyllenhaal) taking care of her. You see them both struggle with their feelings. He’s a player who has never really cared about anyone, and just used people to get whatever he was after. He had sex with every women he’d meet. And then he meets Maggie and he falls in love. Hard.  And she’s someone who tends to lock people out after a while, and never fully lets them in, and then they meet each other. And fall in love. And what a beautiful love it is. Beautiful. 

Image

I’ve had tears in my eyes a couple of times, thank god my boyfriend stopped by earlier because I was just about to get to the break-up part.
So I had the movie paused for a couple of hours.
I love it, I really, really do.
Especially the part where he talks to her, after he’s chased her bus to Canada down. It’s so emotional and real. So pure. So honest. So loving.

ImageImage

 

“You meet thousands of people, and none of them really touch you. And then you meet one person, and your life is changed. Forever.”

– Jamie Randall , ‘Love and other drugs’

Image

This is a quote from the movie, it comes at the end, when he looks back at his life and his relationship. It immediately made me think of my boyfriend. He did change my life, has been since the day we met, almost two years ago. 
Normally, I grow tired of my boyfriends after about a month or three, because it’s around that time that my blinding mask of love falls of (they do say love makes people blind, indeed) and I can see that he’s not as perfect as I first thought him to be. I admit, most guys, I didn’t knew very well or long when we’d start dating. And after the mask comes off, I see how irritating or lying and cheating or whatever he is. And I get so frustrated and irritated by him, that at one day I just reach a point where I can’t take it anymore, and break up with him.
But not with this one.
He’s so sweet, caring, always has been.
He does his best to cheer me up when I’m down.
He’s not good with words when it comes to cheer me up, so instead, when I’m crying and feeling horrible, he just quietly takes me into his arms, wipes my tears away and holds me ’till I feel a bit better. He’d even kiss and caress my hair or kiss my cheek, forehead, …
He’ll do anything to make me happy again, ’cause when I’m hurt, he’s hurt.
I love him more and more everyday.
I could spend hours, days, just staring at him, letting my fingers run along his.
I love him so much, that it hurts to be apart.
He’s the one that changed my life, and of which I hope that he’ll forever will 

But I’m not going to tell what the movie is all about, you’ll just have to see and find out for yourself. I hope you’ll enjoy the movie. 

 

6 thoughts on “Love And Other Drugs

  1. Honey it’s a great movie. I’m not one for sappy romance. I like my stories a little raw. This one is most definitely raw. That’s why I liked it so much. If your boyfriend is like this. Wants to be with you sexually and for all the other shit. Then he’s a good one honey. And they are few and far between. I’m happy you two found each other. You are so young, but wise. Very wise.

    1. Because you speak with the wisdom of an old soul. You don’t put up with the shit of young men. I find admirable. You look for the good ones. I like that. You’re a smart one. 😉

  2. That’s just a quite recent change though, I used to go for the ones with the pretty faces, the bad boys. But I guess I just grew up. Thank you , you’re really flattering me too much :3 x

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

