The Friend Zone

And my last post for today will be about nothing less, nothing more than the infamous “Friendzone”.

Let’s start by looking up what it actually means to be “friend zoned” , starting with my good friend, Wikipedia:
“In popular culture, the “friend zone” refers to a platonic relationship where one person wishes to enter into a romantic relationship, while the other does not. It is generally considered to be an undesirable situation by the lovelorn person.Once the friend zone is established, it is said to be difficult to move beyond that point in a relationship.”

I think this is what most people understand under being “friendzoned” but is it true though? Is there really no way of escaping the friend zone? Of course there is!

Only this morning, I was standing on the bus talking to two classmates , about the friend zone , and one of them said that it’s not true that you can’t escape it, there IS a way out, but you just need to have the guts to try and make an actual difference. Have the courage to do something about it. For example, if -as a guy- you never tell the girl (and friend) that you love that you like her, well.. yes, then you’re friendzoned because since she doesn’t know, she WILL date other guys. Unless it’s a romantic movie type of thing and she actually likes you too but is too shy to tell you… blahblahblah, we all know those stories.

And I agree with what he said. Just have some guts, and do something. Tell her. A no you’ll always have, a yes you can get (or something like that, sounds better in Dutch).

Take my relationship now for example. My boyfriend has been in love with me for.. almost two years before we started dating. He showed some interest, but never made it clear to me. Also, when -after a while- I’d be the one texting HIM first, he’d be all short answers and busy and stuff, giving me the feeling that I was either interrupting him, or annoying him. So eventually I stopped texting.
Until -I still don’t know why- I started texting him again, and this time he couldn’t wait to see me and well.. we ended up being a couple (you can read the whole story of that on Start Of A Fairytale)
so “being stuck in the friendzone” is bullshit (pardon my choice of words).

Most people are scared to tell the other one, because they’re afraid it ‘ll ruin the friendship. That’s a possibility, but there’s also the possibility that you’ll end up , together.
Get your courage together, take the leap. If you got nothing to lose anyway?
Just go for it, and who knows, maybe it ‘ll be the start of your fairytale?

Image

Also, to end on a more fun note, this is a great video about the friendzone, enjoy!
Friend Zone

And this is an awesome page I found about “how to escape the friend zone, you might want to check it out 😉
How To Escape The Friend Zone

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Friend Zone

  1. And the most important one: ACT SEXUAL. She must see you as a sexual being. Play into her sexual needs, flirt like hell. She must know you are a male, not a bedlamp. 😉 Just my 2cents. Ps: your article states that you shouldn’t tell her, it’s kind of a moodbreaker and i agree. Although in some cases it could be the final push to a relationship :D.

  2. I’m just saying that you SHOULD tell her.
    “Most people are scared to tell the other one, because they’re afraid it ‘ll ruin the friendship. That’s a possibility, but there’s also the possibility that you’ll end up , together.
    Get your courage together, take the leap. If you got nothing to lose anyway?
    Just go for it, and who knows, maybe it ‘ll be the start of your fairytale?”

    mind the end my friend 😉

    And your advice about acting sexual comes in the “how do I escape the friend zone” text, with “crossing the touch barrier” 😉 x

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

